For Immediate Release
Mary Jane Williamson, Communications Director,
mjwilliamson@asafishing.org, 703-519-9691, x227
www.asafishing.org

Sportfishing Industry Presents the ICAST 2016 “Best of Show” Awards
Johnson Outdoors-MINN KOTA wins “Best of Show” during the world’s largest sportfishing trade show

Orange County Convention Center, Orlando, FL – July 14, 2016The world’s largest sportfishing trade show, the International Convention of Allied Sportfishing Trades, better known as ICAST, is now in full swing (July 12 – 15), at the Orange County Convention Center Orlando, Fla. Produced by the American Sportfishing Association (ASA), the industry’s trade association, ICAST – in its 59th year as the industry’s trade show – is the annual destination for the global recreational fishing industry. Nearly 15,000 industry representatives from the global sportfishing industry are in Orlando to see the latest innovations in tackle, gear, accessories and apparel.

The single most important feature for ICAST exhibitors and attendees alike is the New Product Showcase. The New Product Showcase, sponsored by Fishing Tackle Retailer, embodies the sportfishing industry’s innovative and entrepreneurial spirit and rewards that ingenuity through the “Best of Show” new product awards competition.

This year, more than 1,000 tackle products and accessories were entered by more than 240 companies into 24 “Best of Show” categories in the New Product Showcase, all vying for the overall ICAST 2016 “Best of Show” award.

Making up a special section of the 650,000 gross square foot show floor, the ICAST New Product Showcase provides special visibility for the industry’s latest innovations in gear, apparel and accessories.

Best of Show Awards
Johnson Outdoors, Inc. and its MINN KOTA ULTREX were voted by buyers and media as the best product in both the Boat Accessories category and the overall “Best of Show.”

This year, first time exhibitors Cobra Garage Door Storage won “Best of Show” in Tackle Management; Squidnation won “Best of Show” for Soft Lure; and Trapper Tackle won “Best of Show” in Terminal Tackle.

“I congratulate all of the winners and everyone who participated in the New Product Showcase. The creativity and ingenuity that exists within our member companies adds excitement and discovery to the adventure of fishing,” said ASA President and CEO Mike Nussman. “I also thank Fishing Tackle Retailer for their sponsorship of this important event.”

“This year we saw a ground swell of new products being entered into the New Product Showcase which bodes well for the 2016 and 2017 fishing seasons,” said Trade Show Director Kenneth Andres.

The ICAST 2016 “Best of Show” awards, sponsored by Costa, were presented on Wednesday, July 13, during the Chairman’s Industry Awards Reception at the Orange County Convention Center.

2016 ICAST New Product Showcase Award Winners
For product details, images and other information please contact the individual award winners’ contacts listed below.

New Product Showcase

ICAST 2016 Overall Best of Show – Johnson Outdoors – MINN KOTA
Product:
MINN KOTA ULTREX
Media Contact:
Jim Edlund jim@traditionsmedia.com

Best of Show – Freshwater Rod – St. Croix Rods
Product:
Legend Glass Rod
Media Contact: Dena Woerner dena@traditionsmedia.com

Best of Show – Saltwater Rod – Lew’s Fishing Tackle
Product:
Lew’s Mach Speed Stick/Inshore Rod
Media Contact:
Gary Dollahon gary@dollahonpr.com

Best of Show – Fly Fishing Rod – St. Croix Rods
Product:
SOLE
Media Contact:
Dena Woerner dena@traditionsmedia.com

Best of Show – Freshwater Reel – Lew’s Fishing Tackle
Product:
Team Lew’s Custom Pro SLP
Media Contact:
Gary Dollahon gary@dollahonpr.com

Best of Show – Saltwater Reel – Pure Fishing, Inc.
Product:
PENN SLAMMER III
Media Contact:
Ron Giudice ron@blueherron.com

Best of Show – Fly Reel – Pure Fishing, Inc.
Product:
Pflueger President Fly Reel
Media Contact:
Ron Giudice ron@blueherron.com

Best of Show – Hard Lure – Savage Gear USA
Product:
3D Suicide Duck
Media Contact:
Carmen MacDonald carmen@vauntmarketing.com

Best of Show – Soft Lure – Squidnation
Product:
Longtail Flippy Floppy
Media Contact:
Bill Pino squidnation@gmail.com

Best of Show – Lifestyle Apparel – Under Armour, Inc.
Product:
Men’s UA Fish Stalker SS
Media Contact:
Heather Miller heatherm@gunpowderinc.com

Best of Show – Technical Apparel – Plano Synergy
Product:
Frabill I-Float Suit
Media Contact:
Josh Lantz josh@traditionsmedia.com

Best of Show – Boating Accessories – Johnson Outdoors, Inc.
Product:
MINN KOTA ULTREX
Media Contact:
Jim Edlund jim@traditionsmedia.com

Best of Show – Boats – Johnson Outdoors Watercraft, Inc.
Product:
Old Town Predator PDL
Media Contact:
David Hadden david.hadden@oldtowncanoe.com

Best of Show – Combo – Lew’s Fishing Tackle
Product:
Mach II Speed Spool Combo
Media Contact:
Gary Dollahon gary@dollahonpr.com

Best of Show – Electronics – Johnson Outdoors – Humminbird
Product:
HELIX 10 SI
Media Contact:
Jim Edlund jim@traditionsmedia.com

Best of Show – Eyewear – Costa
Product:
Rafael
Media Contact:
Liza Jones liza@fullcirclepr.com

Best of Show – Fishing Accessory YETI Coolers
Product:
Hopper Flip 12
Media Contact:
Brittany Hodill brittany.hodill@backbonemedia.net

Best of Show – FishSmart – Adventure Products
Product:
EGO Kryptek S1 Genesis Medium Clear Landing Net
Media Contact:
Grant Corbett grantc@adventureproducts.com

Best of Show – Fly Fishing Accessory – Boomerang
Product:
Retractable Fly Box
Media Contact:
Lisa Jung lisa@wcc-mfg.com

Best of Show – Footwear – Shimano American Corporation
Product:
Flats Wading Boots
Media Contact:
John Mazurkiewicz jpmazurk@ameritech.net

Best of Show – Giftware – Weego
Product:
Weego Jump Starter 44
Media Contact:
Andrew Golden agolden@rushtongregory.com

Best of Show – Kids’ Tackle – Steinhauser, LLC
Product:
48” Starter Rod Combos
Media Contact:
Ralph Duda rduda@lilanglers.com

Best of Show – Line – G. Pucci & Sons, Inc.
Product:
P-Line Tactical Fluorocarbon
Media Contact:
Stefano Pucci fishpline@aol.com

Best of Show – Tackle Management – Cobra Garage Door Storage
Product:
Cobra Garage Door Storage Rack
Media Contact:
Pete Wagner info@cobrastorage.com

Best of Show – Terminal Tackle – Trapper Tackle
Product:
DropShot/Live Bait/Finesse Hook
Media Contact:
Noel Vick noel@traditionsmedia.com

ICAST 2017 will be held at the Orange County Convention Center, Orlando, Fla., July 11 – 14, 2017.

For complete ICAST information, visit ICASTfishing.org.